Slavery: We don’t want to talk about it unless it’s Black History Month

Hive Mind: Reflections of Culpability and Change

Yeah so we are doing a social studies unit on our ancestors. We’ve done some version of this for as long as I can remember…more than 15 years? The students are asked to talk to family, interview relatives, make a family tree, and identify one of their countries of origin. (You know…not the U.S.A. unless they are indeed a Native People of this country)

Ok. So, our units are language rich and it’s my job to come up with some of the daily vocabulary. There I was picking words: ancestor, traditions, relationship, immigrant…hmm…immigrant…

So, all of a sudden I am thinking…for the FIRST TIME …because white privilege…SLAVERY.

I have had Black students. None this year, but usually I have a child with ancestry that very very likely includes slavery. And it’s never occurred to me to deal with this. Sigh. Well, there it is. And here we are.

I was debating…

View original post 151 more words

Leave a Reply

